Mexico City Blondes - Blush - LP



  1. Out to Dry

  2. Thick as Thieves

  3. Reasons Why

  4. Addio

  5. Yellow Sunshine

  6. Thin Line

  7. Crimson

  8. Off the Hook

  9. Sunny Day

  10. All Night

  11. Road Noise

  12. Planet Caravan


Mexico City Blondes is Allie Thompson and Greg Doscher. The two met in Santa Barbara, California and after bonding over mutual influences, decided to collaborate on a record.

Allie was raised on American folk and grew up playing other peoples' music on her piano. Adulthood brought a desire to learn guitar and also a fascination with synthetic sounds and dreamy, trip-hop vocals that she was eager to incorporate into her own compositions. Learning to play guitar led her to begin writing her own songs.

Greg Doscher was previously a guitarist in Tripdavon with which he recorded and co-produced 3 albums touring in Asia, Europe and North America with their debut album reaching number 12 on the UK charts. On break from this project, he had been eager to work with a broader range of sounds and Allie’s unique voice proved to be an effective counterpoint to the blend of electronic and organic sounds in his productions.

Their first single, Fade, was released in the summer of 2014. As a totally unknown act with no label and no marketing push it managed through sheer word of mouth to reach number 1 on Hype Machine’s most popular chart twice over the course of the next few months and became one of the biggest indie breakout hits of the year. Encouraged by the overwhelming response to “Fade”, Allie and Greg formed a live band to tour and continued to write and record new material. Subsequent singles “Colors”, “Shot the Moon” and “Watery Dreams” were all well received and continued to build on what their debut single had started while expanding the boundaries of their sound. Their self-titled debut EP was released on September 15, 2015.